LibGuides: Études anglaises: Databases, Journals & Articles

Essential databases

JSTOR Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Archives for over 525 scholarly journals, providing access for many titles back to the first issue. Current issues are not available in this database. Check our other databases for more current issues, or contact your librarian. Full text: Yes. Languages: English-French-Other. Controlled access, CRKN.
Literary Criticism Online (Gale) Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Centuries of analysis - scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips.
Oxford English Dictionary Online Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
The Oxford English Dictionary is widely acknowledged to be the most authoritative and comprehensive record of the English language in the world, tracing the evolution and use of words. This database contains more than 600,000 meanings of words, using more than 3 million quotations to show how words have been used over the entire history of the English language. Includes the Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary. Langue: Anglais. CAUL

Complementary databases

Gale Academic One File Select Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Explore full text articles in the domains of culture, economics, the arts, health, social sciences, sciences, and current events.
Literary Encyclopedia Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. The encyclopedia offers very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European. To date, there are over 7000 completed articles, with new articles added monthly. Full text: Yes. Language: English. Controlled access.
New Oxford Shakespeare Online Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
Periodicals Archive Online Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Archives covering the period of 1802 to 1995. In this database, you will find full text for articles from nearly 500 academic journals in the fields of the arts, social sciences and humanities. Full text: Yes. Languages: English-Other. Controlled access, CRKN.
PsychInfo Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this specialized bibliographic database in psychology provides access to references and article abstracts from over 2,500 peer reviewed, scientific journals. Also includes references to books and theses.
SAGE Journals Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Sage provides access to nearly 600 journals and offers full text access to more than 255 of these titles. Journals cover myriad subjects. Full text: Partial. Languages: English. Controlled access, CRKN.
ScienceDirect Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Science Direct provides access to full text for articles and books in the fields of natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, as well as the arts, social sciences and humanities. Full text: Partial. Languages: English-French-Other. Controlled access, CRKN.

Off-campus access

Off-campus persons can use our controlled-access online resources (resources for which we pay a subscription fee) if they are current students, professors, or staff at Sainte-Anne.

When authorized clients wish to use our controlled-access databases, they will be prompted to enter their username and password after clicking on the database link. This is the same information you enter for email access at Université Sainte-Anne.

Members of the public and alumni cannot access our online resources off-campus. These clients can, however, use our online resources in the library.

Please contact us if you need more information or assistance.

Films

Audio Ciné Films Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Watch Audio Ciné Films anytime and anywhere on your favourite device. Free thanks to your library. Works best with Google Chrome. Apple products must use Swank Media Player (available in the Apple Store) to view films.
Kanopy Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Stream films from Kanopy anytime, anywhere on your favourite device. Free thanks to your library.

Essential journals

You will find below a list of important current journals for the English Department, which are available in library in print and/or online. You can also check our catalogue for more titles and more information on the range of issues and numbers to which we have access.

Canadian Literature
Canadian Theatre Review
Capilano Review
Comparative Literature Studies
Contemporary Literature
Critical Inquiry
Fiddlehead
Jeunesse : young people, texts, cultures
New Literary History
Newfoundland & Labrador Studies
Nineteenth Century Literature
PMLA : Publications of the Modern Language
Prairie Fire

Search for a journal by title

Search for the journal title in the search box below to check for availability in Novanet.