LibGuides: Études anglaises: Welcome!

Purpose of this guide

This guide was specially designed for students in English studies in order to support you in the work required of you for your program.

It contains many indispensable resources (books, articles from professional and peer reviewed journals, reliable websites and writing tools) that will permit you to not only save time but increase your chances of academic success.

To familiarize yourself with your discipline

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are an excellent resource to help you familiarize yourself with your discipline. The Oxford English Dictionary, listed below, is an essential tool for understanding the English language and its history. The Literary Encyclopedia is another great resource for familiarizing yourself with literary themes and specific authors. Other reference tools, which are also excellent resources for understanding themes in English Studies, are also available in the library catalogue. We encourage you to explore them!

Oxford English Dictionary Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
The Oxford English Dictionary is widely acknowledged to be the most authoritative and comprehensive record of the English language in the world, tracing the evolution and use of words. This database contains more than 600,000 meanings of words, using more than 3 million quotations to show how words have been used over the entire history of the English language.
Literary Encyclopedia Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. The encyclopedia offers very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European. To date, there are over 7000 completed articles, with new articles added monthly. Full text: Yes. Language: English. Controlled access.

Videos to get to know your library (French only)

Note sur l'accessibilité: Ces vidéos contiennent de l'audio et des captures-écrans avec sous-titrage facultatif. La qualité de la vidéo est modifiable. Il n'y a pas de traductions. Les transcriptions des vidéos suivantes sont disponibles en format PDF:

Études anglaises: Welcome!

Purpose of this guide

To familiarize yourself with your discipline

Videos to get to know your library (French only)

Contactez la bibliothèque

Contactez l'équipe de la bibliothèque

Explorez nos réseaux sociaux